Day 2: Contrast

the card from my friend

I believe that the universe and our spirits have many ways of teaching us the lessons that we are meant to learn. Some of these lessons are taught through contrast. Sometimes I get them; sometimes I don’t. If I don’t get them right away, another opportunity arises for me to see more clearly. This goes back to the idea that God truly is patient. He will keep showing us, giving us clues and waiting until finally we say, “Oooooh! I see now! I get it!” Sometimes the message is clear very quickly.
Yesterday, I received a small package in the mail from my very best friend from college. We haven’t lived in the same city for 14 years, and our lives have changed drastically in those years, but we still have this amazing connection and mutual love for each other. In the package was a little pack of squirrel air fresheners and a card. Small things, but they made my heart sing! Contrast. There are people in my life that don’t bring me this kind of  joy. There are people in my life that take so much effort to please that sometimes I wonder why they are still a part of my experience (of course I recognize that this is because I have chosen for them to continue to be!). It is such a huge contrast to this relationship (and to several of my other friendships). But it goes back to one thing: choice. We do have free will. We have the freedom to really recognize these contrasts and make a decision. What do we choose to experience in our lives? Do we invite more of the joy in? Or do we continue with something that doesn’t feel good and wait for the next big lesson to come and shake us? If we choose the latter, that’s ok too. It’s still a choice and like I said, God is patient. But the reminders won’t stop. What I have found in my life is that if I don’t pay attention, those reminders get bigger. Sometimes so big that I can no longer ignore what is right in front of me. So I have a choice. I choose to pay attention. To open my heart up to those moments of contrast. To recognize them when they are still small enough for me to say, “Ohhh, I get it! Isn’t contrast beautiful!” and not wait until they get so big that I am saying, “why me?!” I am making that choice today. I am going to try recognize contrast when it is offered to me because, truly, this is the gentlest form of the learning process 🙂
Wishing you love and light.
2 thoughts on “Day 2: Contrast

Leave a Reply

