Health, Spirituality

Day 3: Physical Healing

There is a lot to be said for waking up at the crack of dawn. For me, it’s mostly that I don’t want to do it. But apparently these days, that’s not up to me. Let go and let God. For the most part I do that fairly graciously (I think). So today, when I woke at 5:30am and tried rather unsuccessfully to go back to sleep, I decided to get up and take advantage of this quiet time in our house. I came downstairs, made some coffee and walked straight into my “zen den” (what my 5 year old daughter calls it) to raise my energy, meditate, and possibly free write. As I began to do this, all I could see was the face of the son of one of my friends. Yesterday, I finally opened up to an old friend about my journey to healing…specifically in regards to energy work. I have known her for years and really like her, but until this past week, I have had trouble publicly owning this part of who I am. I’m not saying that I am now shouting from the mountain tops “I’m an energy healer!!”, but I am paying attention to those cues and opening up when the opportunity arises. Baby steps. So, with her permission, I began to work on her son (long-distance of course…I didn’t wake him up to come over). As I was working on him, I heard something that I had prior knowledge of, but for some reason it was such an eye opener this morning. Since writing my first post and laying out my timeline for physical healing, I have had this thought in the back of my head. Why was my physical healing so rapid? I have met so many that suffer, that are on the path, do energy work, but still don’t experience the same level of healing that I have. What I came to is this (and I believe that I needed to do this energy session on this boy before I was able to write about it): our cells renew themselves. They are doing this constantly. The beauty of this is that it offers us opportunities for complete healing on a regular basis. Some cells take longer to renew. Some diseases (for some reason cancer seems to throw a wrench in so many things) make this process a little more difficult. For the most part, however, this healing is physically possible. Here’s where the tricky part comes in. A friend of mine recently told me that “if the symptoms go untreated for too long, they become a part of your personality.” She was specifically referring to bi-polar disorder, but what she said certainly went deeper than that. Isn’t this the case with so many diseases? If you live with chronic pain long enough, you begin to identify with it so strongly that it nearly becomes who you are. How you identify yourself. I believe that the reason my physical healing was so rapid was because, on some level (though I will admit that that level was very buried at times), I always knew that it was possible to be free of this disease. It hadn’t swallowed me whole despite the fact that I had lived with it daily for 22 years. It was never who I was–though it threatened to become that at times–but rather a part of who I was. For this, I am thankful.

So here’s the challenge. If you are suffering from an illness, a disease, or chronic pain, make a conscious effort today to really and truly feel healthy again. Remember that this is not who you are, but merely a part. If it helps you to think about the fact that our cells are constantly renewing, then do that…often. And here’s the kicker. If you slip back into your old pattern of thinking, forgive yourself and then start over again. This is just the beginning. The emotional work is what takes the longest because we insist on letting our heads get in the way. So for today, for the next week, or month, work on the physical. I promise it will get easier.

Wishing you health, joy and complete healing.

11 thoughts on “Day 3: Physical Healing”

  1. thank you, I consider this blog another healing tool, especially this entry! Law of Attraction continues to reinforce what I know to be true!

    1. Practice makes perfect 😉 What’s funny is that we are always presented with gentle reminders when we slip up. The hard part is in remembering not to punish ourselves for the slip, but to pick up where we left off and keep moving. Lots of love and light to you on your journey!

Leave a Reply

