Day 4: Finding Clarity In My Pain

The body is always talking to us, if we will only take the time to listen.  – Louise L. Hay

I believe that our bodies are messengers for our souls. The symptoms that we reflect physically can always trace back to a lesson to be learned in how we are living our lives, how we are thinking, or to what we are choosing to give our power. This past weekend, some things happened in my family (the family that I was raised in) that caused some of my former physical symptoms to reappear. By Saturday afternoon, I had so much pain and stiffness in my hips and my hands, that my former self would have jumped to a place of fear and said, “my arthritis is back!” I am so very thankful for the knowledge that I now have and that I am continuing to gain because somehow, I did not go to this very familiar place. Instead, I removed myself from the situation and listened. I am sharing this personal information because while each of us have separate lives and different paths, I believe that those who are led to this post will be here for a reason.

I was diagnosed with arthritis when I was a toddler. In my early childhood, my illness showed up in a very obvious way. I had a lot of swelling and stiffness but was blessed with relatively little pain. I experienced my first remission when I was in 6th grade. The remission lasted nearly 5 years. When I relapsed, my symptoms had completely flipped. I had minimal swelling, but a great deal of pain. This was the case through my teen and early adult years. When I went to my first energy healer, I was told that my disease was related to my mom and her controlling nature. This never felt right to me. My mom was amazing. A loving, nurturing mother who always gave more than she received. The energy from that session worked and got me started on the right path, but I believe that the message had gotten muddled somewhere along the way. Thankfully, this didn’t turn me away from the path entirely. I put it in the back of my mind and decided that it didn’t matter why I had this disease, but only that there was a possibility for complete physical healing.

So when I listened this past weekend, I became very clear on my own personal message. When I was a child, my illness was present to teach the adults around me some very big lessons. This is the reason that my symptoms were so externally evident. It was more for them than it was for me. As I grew older, the stiffness and the pain (that only I could feel) replaced the swelling to serve as a messaging system for me. As I became more independent, there was no need for my symptoms to be so external.

This weekend, I fell back into a role of peace keeper in my family. I ran in and difused the situation. In the process, I physically took on some of the pain so that those around me (whom I love dearly) would not need to experience it so much. Granted, their pain was not necessarily physical, but this is how it presents itself in my body. I am telling you all this because as soon, I mean AS SOON as I was given a clearer picture of what was going on, my physical pain began to subside. By Sunday morning, I was pain-free. Absolutely amazing. It never ceases to blow my mind.

I feel so much gratitude for lessons that I have learned so far in my life. I feel so much joy for the the hope that I am now able to see in so many others. I truly hope that as this year progresses, I will find opportunities to assist others in this beautiful journey toward complete healing. Happy Monday everyone!

Wishing you love and light.

6 thoughts on “Day 4: Finding Clarity In My Pain

  1. Hot summer laziness? I yearn for it with four children….wait, how many kids do I have this week? 🙂 Hahaha. 🙂 However, I am thrilled that you were able to pass up the pain realizing that you did not own it.
    I’m working on my laziness skills this week for sure. 🙂
    Hugs to you both!!!!!

  2. Love this Maria! And I love that you processed the information from your first energy session through your own filters instead of taking it on as “truth”. You are amazing in so many ways!

    • Thank you Teri! i’m so thankful that you were in my life during that time (and continue to be). For me, contrast has always been such a wonderful teacher, and you always offered me that. Thank you 🙂

Leave a Reply

