Health, Spirituality

Mountains Out of Molehills

  As most of you know, when I was 3 years old, I was diagnosed with juvenile rheumatoid arthritis. In my mid-20’s, I experienced the worst relapse that I can recall. The pain was excruciating and got to the point where I could barely walk. I was embarrassed; I was in pain; I was facing a mountain that I saw no way to get over. It was at that point that a friend of mine introduced me to energy work. She was still learning, but the improvement was immediate (literally 20 minutes passed and the swelling in my wrist disappeared!). I was sold. That was the summer of 2000. Since then, I have also had several energy attunements and have continued on a path of health and spirituality beyond what I had ever dreamed possible.

I am not saying that this path was always easy. I am not saying that I haven’t had moments where I questioned everything. Don’t we all? What I’m saying is that, by the grace of God, I have been given this awesome gift. One where I can connect with my spirit and gain perspective at times when I need it most. Back in 2006, when I was pregnant with my 2nd child, I began getting some physical symptoms. Small pains, a little swelling, etc. My initial response was to go back to that place of fear…what if this was just a really long remission? My mind started swirling and I allowed fear to gain control as the symptoms continued. It was at that point that I began to pray for the fear to be lifted. I began sitting in meditation again (something that I had allowed to move to the back-burner as I focused my attention and energy on my family) until one day while I was sitting in meditation, I started picturing myself walking down this beautiful forest path. The plants and trees around me were a rich shade of green and as I looked up I saw the sunlight shimmering through the top of the trees. It was amazing…truly God’s work. As I walked down this soft dirt path, I came across a stone. I looked at the stone and soon all I could see was this annoying rock (now growing) in my path. I no longer was able to see all the beauty that was around me. My anger (which is just a result of fear) clouded all beauty and light. At that point,  I got this message:

If you hit a rock in the road, you don’t become the rock. You step over it or sometimes even stumble, but you never become it. In this sense, your troubles/ailments/experiences are not you, but rather a part of the journey that you are on.

Now if you ever have experienced one of those true “ah-ha” moments in life, you will understand what happened next. It was as if the clouds had been lifted! I realized that I had begun to put so much energy toward this small pain (which turned out to be just a little reminder about trying to hold on to control over situations that I had no business trying to control), that I had given it a power all of its own. I had focused so much on that pain (and as a result let fear creep back in), that it was starting to block out the light! It wasn’t until I received that message that I was able to gain clarity. I watched as the boulder started to shrink back down into the pebble that it began as and once again I returned to the beautiful path. The pain began to subside. By morning, it was gone. What a beautiful reminder! I hate that I had to get to that point to receive this message, but I am continuously grateful for it. Over the years, I have been reminded of this message many times. Sometimes for myself, sometimes for others. But the truth of it is universal. Don’t make mountains out of molehills 🙂 Let love light your way and see the rock for what it really is: just a rock.

13 thoughts on “Mountains Out of Molehills”

  1. I am so grateful you three have entered my life. I agree with MoJo the timing of your story and post is right on target again for moi. I wish more people understood how much energy work is valid and correlates to every facet of our lives. Thanks you gorgeous soul.

    1. Ahhh, can you believe that your comment came at just the right moment for me too?! I too wish more people understood the value of energy work 🙂 Thank you for your kind words, my friend.

    1. You are more than welcome! What never ceases to amaze me is how quickly things can happen for people if they are open and allowing. MC’s fever was a perfect reminder 🙂 Her spirit didn’t care to hold on to it, she didn’t need to hold on to it, and you trusted and allowed. Beautiful!

Leave a Reply

