Pushing the Pull Door

Over the past month, I have taken a brief hiatus from writing my blog. I have been concentrating on my other job(s) and have been continuing to do distance energy sessions.

While working with several people, there is one message that continues to come up. Changing your life, healing your life, is absolutely doable but it takes work. 12 years ago as I was beginning my journey toward healing, I often complained that this journey was “really hard!” At the time, my friend would look at me and tell me that it’s not hard…you just have to make up your mind and do it. Easy. I would then beat myself up for making the process so unnecessarily difficult.

Here’s what I have since realized. It was hard. At the time, I had spent the majority of my life (20+ years) living with arthritis. There is so much mentally and emotionally weaved into having a chronic disease. Add to this the fact that, as I was diagnosed when I was 3, this was all I had ever known! It had become a part of my identity. So yes, it was hard. It was hard to unravel this strand from within the bundle that had become “me”.  It wasn’t that I didn’t know that I was on the path to healing this part of me, but that I had to constantly remind myself. I had to dig deep into the why of my pains, etc. and work through them both physically and emotionally each time I felt them…and in the beginning, I won’t lie, that was a lot. But eventually, it became easier. I realized that my spirit was trying to get me to notice things (thoughts or “misthoughts”) by sending me messages. Pains, stiffness, or swelling were ways to get my attention. The beauty of it was that once I got the “message” and made a shift in my thoughts or actions, the pain would go away.

This is where the hard work was. It is not enough to hear the message and to get it, intellectually. The only way to change your life is by starting to do or think things differently. I was watching “New Girl” last night (love this show!) and I was laughing at a part where the one “grumpy old man” kind of roommate, Nick, was trying push open a door that said “PULL” on it. He was getting angrier and angrier, but refused to PULL the door! It was extremely humorous to watch, but how many of you have experienced this in your life? Not necessarily with a door (hopefully), but with something that wasn’t going well for you? My good friend and mentor, Teri, used to say “how’s that working for you?” I heard that a lot, but eventually, I was able to recognize when something that I was doing was not producing the result that I desired. The shift comes in recognizing this and not beating yourself up for spending 3 months pushing on a door that said pull, but in trying something different. Changing your action. Changing your thought. If it’s still not bringing about the desired outcome, change again.

So yes, it’s work. Sometimes you have to retrain your brain and that takes time. The beauty of it is that it’s doable AND it gets easier. I promise.

7 thoughts on “Pushing the Pull Door

  1. So much truth in your words my friend! It does take work…and a lot of times because we are pushing the “pull” door! Though I suspect I may have been the one saying, “Just make up your mind and do it” — I would rescind that statement and instead say, “Take a moment, step back, look at your surroundings (hopefully see the inner “pull sign”), and try again.”

    Thank you for a wonderful and witty reminder!

  2. Thanks for writing this! I am trying to change quite a few things about me and you are right, it is so hard. However, if it wasn’t hard, the reward wouldn’t feel so great. So I try to remind myself of this and this post is a good reminder as well.

    • It is work, isn’t it? But what you say is true. It’s all about contrast. I can guarantee that had I not experienced illness in my life, I would not be so grateful for my health today. Sometimes we need to experience the negative to truly appreciate the positive.

Leave a Reply

