Spirituality

A New Awareness

Over the last four weeks, I have been taking part in a truly amazing experience. I am doing a small group Phoenix Rising Yoga Therapy class (also referred to as PRYT). This program is really interesting. It’s not just yoga, but an opportunity to do some real self-discovery. I would venture to say that if you are not ready to take a good hard look at yourself, then maybe this program isn’t quite up your alley. However, I am. I have mentioned PRYT in my posts before. I have done several 1 on 1 sessions prior to signing up for this 8 week course and each session has led to a huge “ah-ha” moment in my life and consequently a “larger than baby step” move forward.

All this being said, we have moved through the ideas of Awareness and Acceptance with moments of extreme clarity. This past week, while meditating, the little voice within gave me this beautiful little nugget of awareness:

You put can’ts around you like a warm blanket. What if you concentrated on pulling those away and on surrounding yourself with “cans”. There is comfort in the can’t mentality. It takes away responsibility and pressure of having to do something. It makes it ok to sit here and wait for things to happen to you. We want you to walk through this discomfort. To move forward in the knowing and the realm of “can”.

Pretty big moment of awareness if you ask me 🙂 And, sadly, so true. I have had moments in my life of complete and utter stagnation. Why? Because I surrounded myself with can’t, got comfortable there, chose to sit and wait, and then proceeded to wonder why nothing was happening! Silly right? But it’s true. So as I currently sit in another brief moment of stagnation, I have made a choice. I am chosing to take another step forward. To really work on removing can’t from my mind and my heart and instead surrounding myself with the idea of can.

What would that look like for you? Maybe even more importantly, what would that feel like for you?

Much love to all of you as you look in and hopefully take another step forward with me 🙂

Maria

14 thoughts on “A New Awareness”

  1. “You put can’ts around you like a warm blanket. What if you concentrated on pulling those away and on surrounding yourself with “cans”. There is comfort in the can’t mentality. It takes away responsibility and pressure of having to do something. It makes it ok to sit here and wait for things to happen to you. We want you to walk through this discomfort. To move forward in the knowing and the realm of “can”.” LOVE THIS! Great post!

Leave a Reply

