Health, Spirituality

Sunrise Meditation

Let me start by saying that it is not often that I like to rise with the sun. I’m all over a good sunset, primarily because it is at a decent hour, but to rise with the sun is really hard for me. That being said, on my recent trip to Greece this summer, a friend had mentioned how beautiful the sunrise was in our particular location. She planted a seed and while every ounce of my being wanted to resist getting out of bed that early in the morning, I actually set my alarm for 6am so that I could watch the sun rise one time before I left. As it turns out, I didn’t really need the alarm. I was wide awake that morning at 5:30 am! I walked up to my neighbor’s roof (it’s okay, they are also relatives) and waited…

Within 30 minutes, the horizon had completely changed. These pictures don’t do it justice. I’m not sure anything can replace the sheer beauty of watching a sunrise. At one point, I closed my eyes and felt the warmth and light of the sun cover and soothe my entire body. I opened my heart and visualized the warm light entering through my heart and filling up my entire being. One word: Peace. That is what I felt in that moment. True, blissful peace. If you have an opportunity to rise with the sun, I highly recommend doing it. Do it, enjoy those few minutes, and then take a moment to really soak it up. Close your eyes, feel the warmth penetrate your skin and visualize that powerful light coming straight into your heart space and filling your body.  Sunrise meditation complete. It doesn’t have to be long. It doesn’t have to be an emptying of your mind. Just a moment of focus on something that attracts your attention anyway. Simple.

I thought about rising with the sun more often after that, but it didn’t quite work out for me 😉 However, I did get up about an hour or two after the sunrise each day for a walk around the village.

20170724_074116

The colors weren’t quite as striking, but the sun still was. Each day, I took a moment to just stand and soak in the sun. Guess what? Still blissful. I highly recommend it.

Wishing you a beautiful day,

Maria

3 thoughts on “Sunrise Meditation”

Leave a Reply

