Health, Spirituality

3 Simple 5 Minute (or less) Meditations

20170630_203027

I have been meditating for a fairly long time. When I talk to people about how much it has improved my health and my day-to-day life, the most common response that I hear is “I’ve tried meditating. I just can’t sit for that long.” I get it. I totally get it. When I first started meditating, I would sit and try to empty my mind. I felt like there was a magic number or amount of time that I needed to be able to sit with my head empty of thoughts. It was like I was creating an unattainable goal and then getting frustrated with myself for not reaching it. I eventually got to a place where I thought, if I can sit and focus on my breath for a full minute today, then I will have accomplished my meditation goal. As you might imagine, that went way better for me 😉 The minute became two minutes, then 3…and the rest is history.

With all that being said, I wanted to offer you a few of my favorite quick focusing techniques or meditations.

  1.  Count Your Breath– This is as simple as it sounds and can be done for as long as you want. I have used this with children as young as 3 or 4 years old and I still use it myself multiple times throughout the day. All you have to do is close your eyes, inhale while slowly and silently counting to 5, pause, exhale while slowly counting to 5. That’s 10 seconds! Do it 6 more times and you have meditated for 1 whole minute! See how easy? If your mind wanders, no big deal. Start the count over again. This will soon be one of your favorite centering techniques. I promise.
  2. Sun Meditation- Here’s another quick one to do while just sitting outside. Again, close your eyes. Feel the rays of the sun come down through the top of your head, all the way through your entire body, down to the soles of your feet. This might be enough for you. You can do this quickly or you can take your time, imagining that the sunlight is filling each portion of your body (head, neck, shoulders, etc…taking a little extra time on those areas where you find yourself holding tension) as it moves down to your feet. Once you get to your feet, allow the sunlight to exit through the bottom of your feet.
  3. Sun to Core Meditation If you find the above meditation easy to visualize and you like the peace that it brings to your physical body, then this is an additional step that you can take to extend your practice. After your bring the sunlight through your entire body, imagine it going through your feet and all the way to the core of the earth. Then slowly do the same with the warmth from the center of the earth coming back up through your body from your feet to your knees and so on. Take your time bringing the warm light back up through your body, melting away any fear or tension that you might be carrying in your physical body.

Simple enough, right? That first one is probably one of my favorite go to meditations and is easy enough for all ages. If you have been wanting to have a go at meditation, but have been feeling overwhelmed by the thought of having to clear your mind and sit for 15-30 minutes, then I hope that you give one of these a try. I would love to hear how it goes for you.

As Oprah and Deepak say, it takes 21 days to form a habit. These are easy enough to attempt for 21 days, don’t you think? And the reward of more peace in your life is worth the effort. I promise.

With love and gratitude,

Maria

Leave a Reply

